Reconnecting With My Menstrual Cycle

Reconnecting With My Menstrual Cycle

I don’t know about you, however for me, I grew up with a number of messages about being a female and how I ‘should’ act. As an athlete, I pushed my body hard. Yes I wanted to be the best I could be and in the end I lost connection with my body. There were many reasons for this, however this evolved in to losing contact with the flow of my menstrual cycle and the many benefits of being connected with it However, over the years, step by step I reconnected to my menstrual cycle.


The Menstrual Cycle

The process of having a period happens on average of once every 28 days, although this can vary from woman to women. The correct name for this process is the menstrual cycle and the discharging of blood is called menstruating. Following are four phases of the menstrual cycle and a brief explanation of each phase.

Phase 1: The Menstruation (Bleeding) Phase –

The menstruation phase is the beginning of the menstrual cycle. If the body has not conceived (or had a fertilised  egg implanted), the uterus lining is eliminated (i.e. through bleeding / period). The lasts between 3-7 days (as all women are unique). During this phase, women may experience a range of symptoms including cravings, lower back aches and fatigue.

Phase 2: The Follicular Phase –

This phase starts the day bleeding stops up until ovulation. In the follicular phase, the ovaries are being prepared to release another egg. This phase lasts approximately 7-10 days.

Phase 3: The Ovulatory Phase –

The ovulation phase of the menstrual cycle is the shortest phase and lasts better 2-4 days. It is the stage where your body releases an egg for fertilisation (which is great if you are wanting to have a baby).

Phase 4: The Luteal Phase –

The final phase of the menstrual cycle is the luteal phase. This phase lasts between 10-14 days. If the egg is not fertilised, a period occurs. This might be the time you experience pre-menstrual syndrome (PMS). Symptoms of PMS include cramping, headaches, bloating, irritability and cravings.


How Did I Reconnect to My Menstrual Cycle?

I started tracking it through my journal (I journal the majority of days) and also using an app. Yes it took a little bit of effort to start with, however I think it is worth the effort. I now know when I am paying attention to my body, taking care of and listening to my body, I can make more informed choices. I feel as though I am more in flow with life. I also feel much more in flow with Mother Nature (which I feel is very important for the world).


Reconnecting to Mother Nature


Over to You…

I hope this has given you some insight in to the menstrual cycle and how I reconnected to my menstrual cycle. If you have any questions, please write them below.

Ready to reconnect with your heart and start living a more connected and whole-hearted life? Then click here to receive the toolkit 🙂


Poem – She Let Go

Poem – She Let Go

During the past few years, I have been realising that life is a lot about (un)learning and giving up or untangling from what no longer serves us. Subsequently, today I wanted to share with you this poem. Hope you enjoy the “Poem – She Let Go” by Reverend Safire Rose.


She Let Go…

Without a thought or a word, she let go.

She let go of fear. She let go of the judgments.
She let go of the confluence of opinions swarming around her head.
She let go of the committee of indecision within her.
She let go of all the ‘right’ reasons. Wholly and completely,
without hesitation or worry, she just let go.

She didn’t ask anyone for advice. She didn’t read a
book on how to let go… She didn’t search the scriptures.

She just let go.
She let go of all of the memories that held her back.
She let go of all of the anxiety that kept her from moving forward.
She let go of the planning and all of the calculations about how to do it just right.

She didn’t promise to let go.
She didn’t journal about it.
She didn’t write the projected date in her day-timer.
She made no public announcement and put no ad in the paper.
She didn’t check the weather report or read her daily horoscope.

She just let go.
She didn’t analyse whether she should let go.
She didn’t call her friends to discuss the matter.
She didn’t do a five-step Spiritual Mind Treatment.
She didn’t call the prayer line.
She didn’t utter one word. She just let go.

No one was around when it happened.
There was no applause or congratulations.
No one thanked her or praised her.
No one noticed a thing.

Like a leaf falling from a tree, she just let go.
There was no effort. There was no struggle.
It wasn’t good and it wasn’t bad.
It was what it was, and it is just that.
In the space of letting go, she let it all be.
A small smile came over her face.
A light breeze blew through her.
And the sun and the moon shone forevermore.

~ Reverend Safire Rose


Over to You…

What did you enjoy about the Poem – She Let Go? Did it remind you about something in your life? What does it mean to you? Time to reconnect with your courage?

Send this to a friend